September 2014

Print this page ›

August 2014

News & Notices

Nominate a Young Artist for the 2015 YD&T Awards!

Wig and makeup work by 2014 Award Winner Kai Ravelson

Nominations are open now through October 15 for USITT's 2015 Awards for Young Designers & Technicians in the Performing Arts.

Costume designs from the portfolio of 2014 winner Lindsay Hinz

USITT members may nominate a young designer or technician for any of the 11 awards in a variety of disciplines, including lighting, sound, scenic, costumes, and makeup design; technical production, stage management and craftsmanship.

Nominees will be invited to submit their work to a panel of industry leaders who judge the awards. Nominate here.

Winners will receive cash prizes and free registration to USITT's 2015 Annual Conference & Stage Expo March 18-21 in Cincinnati, Ohio, where they'll receive their awards from the award sponsors.

The awards include six for graduate students/young professionals, three for either grad or undergraduate students, and two specifically for undergraduate college seniors.

The awards are:

Graduate Student/Young Professional awards:

  • KM Fabrics Technical Production Award.
  • Robert E. Cohen Sound Achievement Award.
  • Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award.
  • Bernhard R. Works, Fred Biuerki Scenic Technology Award.
  • Barbara Matera Award in Costume-Making.
  • USITT Scene Design Award sponsored by Rose Brand.

Undergraduate Awards:

  • Master Craftsmanship Award sponsored by Bernhard R. Works – to be given for Stage Properties for 2015.
  • W. Oren Parker Undergraduate Scene Design Award sponsored by Stage Decoration & Supplies.

Graduate OR Undergrad Awards:

  • USITT Lighting Design Award sponsored by Barbizon Lighting Company.
  • USITT Makeup Design Award sponsored by Kryolan Professional Makeup.
  • USITT Stage Management Award sponsored by Clear-Com Communications Systems.

The YD&T awards are a way to recognize and support young theatrical artists and technicians through the generosity of industry leaders who sponsor them.

Please visit for more information about eligibility and the nomination process.

Alexa Busnot's scene painting craftsmanship.