November 2013

Print this page ›

November 2013

News & Notices

2014 Elections Start October 30

Sherry Wagner-Henry USITT Secretary, Nominations Committee Chair

Electronic voting for 2014 Board of Directors positions began October 30. Current members should have been notified by e-mail when voting opens and will be able to cast ballots until December 10. The ballot includes a brief biography and a position statement for each candidate. Click here to read about current candidates and their position statements.

Members who do not have access to electronic communication will receive paper ballots. Any member who did not receive an e-mail about voting should check spam filters or call Shannan at 1-800-938-7488 ext. 101.

The USITT Nominations Committee presents the following slate for the 2014 election cycle:

Six directors are to be elected from among Shan Ayers, Joel Ebarb, MC Friedrich, Michael Gros, Carey Hanson, Mickey Henry, Rafael Jaen, Shane Kelly, Adam Klein, Karen Maness, Michael McNamara, and Vickie Scott. Those elected Directors will serve three-year terms beginning July 1.

Five officer positions are also open for election. They include President-Elect: Kevin Rigdon and Mark Shanda; Secretary: Jimmie Byrd and Tammy Honesty; Vice-President for Commissions: Andi Lyons and Carolyn Satter; Vice-President for Conferences: Jack Feivou and Michael Mehler; and Vice-President for International Activities: Marketa Fantova.

Thanks to the 2013 Nominations Committee for recruiting candidates and stewarding applications through the nominations process. This is a time-intensive procedure that involves a great deal of thoughtful observation and recognition of leadership potential.

The committee strives to ensure that the future leadership of the Institute is well-populated with candidates from all categories of membership, all areas of expertise, and all areas of geographic location, as well as experience with the organization, and other important approaches of diverse thinking and representation.

An equal measure of thanks goes out to the candidates themselves, who have been made aware of the important work required of them if elected to these positions.