January 2013

Print this page ›

January 2013

Conference & Stage Expo

Seek Educators as Nominees for Distinguised Achievement Award

Matthew Allar Education Commission

Judy Adamson received the 2012 Distinguished Achievement Award in Education. She was honored at an individual session noting her achievements and participated in a roundtable with other Distinguished Achievement Award winners.

Photo/R Finkelstein

March 1 is the deadline for nominations for the Education Commission’s 2014 Distinguished Achievement Award. The Commission is specifically seeking nominations of outstanding high school/secondary education instructors.

All nominations should be submitted to Matthew Allar, USITT Education Commission DAA chair, College of William and Mary, Department of Theatre, Speech, and Dance, P.O. Box 8795, Williamsburg, VA  23187. Nomination letters may not come from the nominated individual.

Each year, the Education Commission recognizes an individual or group who demonstrates exemplary pedagogical skills and outstanding commitment to the training of future theatre artists. The recipient is recognized at the Annual USITT Conference & Stage Expo as part of the Commission’s event programming.

Membership in USITT is not required for nominees although activity in national organizations of theatre practice is noteworthy.         Demonstration of a strong history of notable student achievement during, and beyond the secondary education level is extremely important. Specific profiles of such success should be outlined. While nominated educators may not have a discernible national reputation, the nomination letter must clearly demonstrate his/her possession of an “extra something” which sets him/her apart from other colleagues. Specific, strong support from one or more organizations such as EdTA, ITS, or VTA is a very useful platform upon which to build a nomination. Such groups may wish to create nomination letters/dossiers to submit for consideration.