Next Story in this issue
June 2004
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record
Nominations Needed for
USITT Golden Pen Award

Lance Brockman
Golden Pen Committee

Nominations for USITT’s prestigious Golden Pen Award are due earlier in 2004, so members are urged to review the award guidelines and consider nominating a book which they feel is worthy of the honor.

All USITT members are eligible to nominate books for the Golden Pen Award, which is given to an outstanding publication in the field of design and production for the performing arts. Books are eligible for a three-year period from the date of publication. Nominations do not automatically carry over from one year to the next, but it is possible for a book to be nominated more than once.

Nominations for the 2005 Golden Pen Award will be accepted until July 1, 2004. MemberS can easily nominate a book by using the form available on the USITT website.

With member number in hand, simply click on the Awards link and follow it to the Golden Pen link from the USITT home page. On the new website, "Awards" are part of "Major Activities." Anyone with questions about the process can contact a member of the Golden Pen subcommittee of USITT Publications: Lance Brockman,; Martha Marking,; or Rich Dunham,

The winning work is intended to make a significant contribution to the field of theater design and technology as an outstanding example of one or more of the following:

  • Scholarly research and critical thinking;
  • Presentation of the work and methodology of exceptional practitioners of theatrical arts and/or crafts;
  • Description of the methods, skills and technology involved in creating works of theatre and/or crafts.

Nominators are urged to address how the proposed book fulfills one or more of these criteria.

Recent Golden Pen Award recipients are, 2004: Mark Cotta Vaz and Craig Barron, The Invisible Art and RosEmary Ingham and Liz Covey, The Costume Technician’s Handbook; 2003: Judy A. Juracek, Natural Surfaces; 2002: Mary C. Henderson, Mielziner: Master of Modern Stage Design; 2001: Max Keller, Light Fantastic; and 2000: Alys E. Holden and Bronislaw J. Sammler, Structural Design for the Stage. A complete list of award winners can be seen in the awards section of

The Publications Committee is responsible for submitting a book to the full Awards Committee and the Board of Directors. Books that receive the Golden Pen Award are added to the list of Publications Available as a benefit to USITT members. Award recipients are invited to the USITT awards banquet as well as to the Conference where members can purchase the Golden Pen books and then have them personally inscribed.

To Top