May 2014

Print this page ›

May 2014

Conference & Stage Expo

Name Rose Brand Competition Winners

Based on their beautifully designed, developed and lit scenic environment, Team Leap Day won the Rose Brand / USITT Action Design Competition at the Fort Worth 2014 Conference & Stage Expo.

In a contest first, these same students also won the individual prizes for top scenic, costume, and lighting designers, as well as technical director. Team Leap Day included:

  • Costume Designer, Jodie Daniels, University of Houston
  • Lighting Designer, Amanda Warren, Stephen F Austin State University
  • Scenic Designer, Rachel Bennick, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Technical Director, Hillary Collazo Abbot, Ohio Northern University

The Action Design Competition pits four teams of student designers and technicians against one another to rapidly conceive, design, and build a scenic environment under a chosen "mystery" theme. Each team was given limited supplies with no prior knowledge of what might be available. The team members had four hours to make the best of their mystery supplies as they planned and executed the ultimate themed environment all while being watched by visitors to Stage Expo. This year's themes were "oddball" holidays: Leap Day, Darwin Day, April Fools' Day and Opposite Day.

Joining the students was a special team of design professionals who created their own scenic design inspired by their theme, Pi Day. They provided recommendations on the top designers in each category and were a wonderful resource for to the student participants.

Photos of the competition and booth designs are at

Other students participating in the competition Included: Jodie Daniels, University of Houston; Amanda Warren, Stephen F. Austin State University; Rachel Bennick, The University of Texas at Austin; Hillary Collazo Abbott, Ohio Northern University; Nicole Giangola, Ohio Northern University; Annette Roggenbuck, Southern Oregon University; Carl Rugato, High Point University; John A. Mitchell, Dixie State University; Kaylah Dulin, Ohio Northern University; Sarah Schwartz, Southern Oregon University; Matthew Plamp, University of Houston; Eric Swabey,Keith, St. Edwards University; Tiffany Delligatti, University of Connecticut; Jacob Novak, Ohio Northern University; Moriah Aronson, Skidmore College; Tom Gray, University of Alabama in Huntsville; Thomas Fernandez, Clemson University; Brian Sechrist, University of Alaska; Edward Pottorff, University of Alabama; and Mike Harvy, Yale University.

Professional participants were Linda Pisano, Indiana University; Jill Klecha, The University of the Arts in Pennsylvania; Andy Fitch, University of Alabama; and Andi Lyons, SUNY-Albany