Next Story in this issue
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record
November 4 Deadline for
Architecture Awards

In its 13th year, the USITT Architecture Awards program is the only awards program in the world devoted exclusively to recognizing excellence in the design of theatre projects. Acknowledging both new and renovated theatres, this awards program continues to draw interest from around the world. USITT's Architecture Commission continues to increase participation in the program using entries as the basis for a special conference session that reviews aspects of the selection process.

Architects and consultants are the people who most often submit entries for the competition, but building owners such as universities or non-profit organizations can either encourage their architects to submit projects or submit them directly to the awards program.

Architecture Commissioner Michael Tingley, AIA, and Vice-Commissioner for Awards William Murray, AIA, have named Timothy Hartung, FAIA, to lead the awards adjudication process. Mr. Hartung, a partner with Polshek Partnership in New York City, has led the design for many significant theatre projects and is a former Board member and Architecture Commissioner for USITT.

The Architecture Awards are open to any new construction or renovation completed since January 1, 1996. The USITT Architecture Awards jury will evaluate projects on creativity, contextual resonance, functional operation, exploration of new technologies, and community contribution.

November 4 is the deadline to submit an entry. Submission information, requirements, and entry forms are available at or by contacting Brian Petranchuk, USITT Accounting and Special Projects Clerk, at 800-938-7488 or

Jurors are expected to meet in November, and all those submitting entries will be notified of results in December. Representatives of projects chosen to receive Honor or Merit awards will be invited guests of USITT at the Annual Conference & Stage Expo March 29 to April 1 in Louisville, Kentucky where the awards will be presented.

Projects also may be considered for inclusion in future exhibits including the 2007 Prague Quadrennial. Award winners from the past several years formed the basis of the United States entry in the 2003 Prague Quadrennial architecture exhibit.

To Top

The Starlight Theatre received a Merit Award in the 2005 USITT Architecture Awards Competiton. Deadline for submitting nominations for the 2006 awards is November 4, 2005.