Next Story in this issue
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record

USITT Secretary Patricia Dennis, left, and Tom Young count ballots during the 2005 election cycle. The Nominations Committee has announced its slate for 2006 with additional nominations being accepted through October 15.
Photo/Barbara ER Lucas

by Patricia Dennis
USITT Secretary


Slate Announced for 2006

USITT Nominations Committee has prepared a slate for the 2006 election cycle. Included are officers and Directors at Large.

Bruce Brockman, in his capacity as Immediate Past President, is the chair of the Nominations Committee. He and the committee worked diligently to seek input from the membership at large, Commissioners, Regional Sections, and Directors at Large. The committee is confident that the slate includes a strong list of individuals well prepared for these positions and representing the wide variety of interest groups, professions, and regions within USITT.

The Nominations Committee presents the following slate for the 2006 election. Officers will be elected for two-year terms starting July 1, 2006.


Lawrence J. Hill

Vice-President for Communications

Bobbi Owen

Vice-President for Programming

Carl Lefko

Vice-President for Sections & Chapters

Holly Monsos

Vice-President for Special Operations

Travis DeCastro
Dan Denhart

Members will be asked to vote for six Directors at Large. Those elected will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2006. The slate put forward by the Nominations Committee for Directors at Large is:

  • Lea Asbell-Swanger
  • Leon I. Brauner
  • Nadine Charlsen
  • Richard Dunham
  • Edward M. Fitzgerald
  • Debra Krajec
  • Andi Lyons
  • Patricia Martin
  • Mike Murphy
  • Donna Ruzika
  • William Teague
  • Sherry Wagner-Henry

The slate may be amended by following the By-Laws that state: "Additional nominations for each elective office may be presented by petition, supported by no fewer than 50 signatures verified as those of members in good standing in the Corporation. Additional nominations shall be accompanied by written approval of the nominee and a brief biographical description."

Additional nominations may be made electronically for candidates who wish to be included on the ballot. To file an e-mail petition, the process is to:

  • Confirm the willingness of the individual to stand for election;
  • Collect the names of at least 50 current USITT members who have agreed to support the nomination; and
  • Send an e-mail by October 15 to Nominations Committee Chair Bruce Brockman at The e-mail must contain the name and brief biography of the nominee, as well as names and e-mail addresses of those supporting the nomination.

Once the electronic petition is received, the membership of those who endorse the nomination will be verified and the support of each signer will be confirmed. If all is in order, the name will be added to the slate.

The Nominations Committee hopes that this option will allow the membership a convenient process for participation and involvement. Petitions may still be filed on paper and mailed to Mr. Brockman at Oklahoma State University, Dept of Theatre, 121 Seretean Center, Stillwater, OK 74078-4076. Any member with questions can also call USITT Secretary Pat Dennis at 612-251-4670 or Mr. Brockman at 405-744-9203.

Ballots for the election will be mailed to current members in November. Ballot packets include biographies of each candidate, the ballot itself, and a postage-paid envelope so ballots can be returned.

USITT's officers and Directors at Large shape the future of our organization - it is critical that all members participate in the election process, by doing so you invest in the future of the Institute.

To Top