Next Story in this issue
MARCH 2004
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record
Young Designers Win Awards

Barbara E.R. Lucas
Public Relations & Marketing Manager

Being adjudicated “the best” in USITT's prestigious Awards for Young Designers & Technicians in the Performing Arts represents a pinnacle of achievement for those just starting their careers.

In 2004, these young professionals will be honored as part of a Conference-wide event celebrating the synergy of new careers and long-standing achievement. The honors will be presented at the All-Conference Reception and Fellows Address to be held Thursday evening, March 18, 2004 at the USITT Annual Conference & Stage Expo in Long Beach, California.

Sarah Nash Gates, former USITT President and executive director of the School of Drama at the University of Washington, will present “Group Dynamics, or Making Magic in a World Full of Muggles.”

The event will feature the induction of new Fellows of the Institute, representing individuals who have made truly outstanding lifetime contributions to the theatre and the work of the Institute.

By celebrating both beginning and distinguished careers together, the Institute is continuing its commitment to recognizing excellence.

Awards for Young Designers & Technicians in the Performing Arts are made possible by generous gifts from their sponsors to the New Century Fund. The sponsors' continuing support – starting with the KM Fabrics, Inc. Technical Production Award, first given in 1995, continuing through to the new support of Stage Decoration & Supplies, Inc. for the Stage Management Award – have kept the awards vibrant.

Each YD&T winner must be completing a degree or be a recent graduate. Each is a USITT member and was nominated by a USITT member for the award. Those nominated submitted a portfolio which was then reviewed by design professionals and sponsors.

Winner of the Barbizon Award for Lighting Design is Patricia Marie Nichols who will graduate from the University of California, San Diego in March 2004. She was nominated by Chris Parry. Winner of the Clear-Com Intercom Systems Sound Achievement Award is David Swenson, slated to graduate from Purdue University in August 2004, who was nominated by Richard K. Thomas.

Nick Bria, scheduled to receive a degree from the Yale School of Drama in May 2004, will receive the Frederick A. Buerki Golden Hammer Scenic Technology Award. Ben Sammler nominated him for the honor.

The KM Fabrics Inc. Technical Production Award will go to Christy Dilts who graduated from Penn State University in May 2003. She was nominated by Daniel Brinker.

Receiving the Kryolan Makeup Design Award is Alexis Nichols, a 2003 graduate of Furman University, who was nominated by Kathleen Gossman. The Rose Brand Award for Scene Design will be given to Dustin Efird, scheduled to graduate from Ohio University in June 2004. Ursula Belden nominated him.

The Stage Management Award, sponsored for the first time by Stage Decoration & Supplies Inc., will go to John R. Gruber of the University of Nebraska, Omaha. The May 2004 graduate was nominated by Steven L Williams. The W. Oren Parker Award for Scene Design will go to Katheryn Monthei who plans to graduate from Wayne State University in May 2004. She was nominated by Fred Florkowski.

Laura Crow nominated the winner of the Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award. Marija Djordjevic is scheduled to graduate from the University of Connecticut in May 2004.

To Top

Design work by Maria Djordjevic helped her win the Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award. Click here for a larger version of the image.

Judges for the YD&T awards included Rachel Keebler, owner of Cobalt Studios.