Next Story in this issue
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record

Rachel Johnson's work (example left) has earned her one of the the USITT Award for Young Designers & Technicians in the Performing Arts. She will receive the KM Fabrics, Inc. Technical Production Award for 2005. She will be recognized at the 45th Annual Conference & Stage Expo in Toronto this March.

by Barbara E.R. Lucas


Nine Designers Slated
To Be Honored for Work

Nine outstanding individuals have been selected to receive USITT Awards for Young Designers & Technicians in the Performing Arts for 2005. They were chosen from a field of 32 professionals at the start of their careers who were considered for the various awards.

Since 1994, USITT has presented more than 50 awards along with $50,000 in cash prizes to recognize the creative talent and individual achievement of young members. KM Fabrics, Inc. initiated the program by creating the first award recognizing and encouraging emerging talent as a way to keep the performing arts industry healthy and bursting with new energy.

Winners for 2005 will be publicly acknowledged at the 2005 Conference & Stage Expo at a ceremony on Thursday evening, March 17 as part of the All-Conference Reception and Fellows Address.

  • Rachel Johnson, KM Fabrics, Inc. Technical Production Award; nominated by Dennis Dorn; a graduate student at University of Wisconsin-Madison; noted by a jury member as "clearly possessing a love for her work."
  • Bradlee Ward, Clear-Com Intercom Systems Sound Achievement Award; nominated by David Budries; a student at the Yale School of Drama. Said a jury member, "I was pulled into the production...use of quick cues and mixing, made possible by his software talent, combined for an excellent audio resume."
  • Keith Kirkland, Barbizon Award for Lighting Design; nominated by Kenton Yeager; a graduate student at the University of Tennessee-Knoxville, whose "'painting with light' skills are excellent." He faced stiff competition for the award.
  • Kimi Maeda, Rose Brand Award for Scene Design; nominated by Nic Ularu; a University of South Carolina graduate student; noted for her "terrific flair for the theatrical (and use of) strong imagery in a way that forces us as audience to step into a well-defined, if unusual world."
  • Clinton O'Dell, Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award; nominated by Marianne Custer; a graduate student at the University of Tennessee; commended because "his concept papers show a maturity and thoroughness of thought and expression."
  • Rebecca Perrenod Lanctot, Frederick A. Buerki Golden Hammer Scenic Technology Award; nominated by Pamela Knourek; a graduate student at the North Carolina School of the Arts; was called "a promising scenic artist."
  • Sarah Lock, Kryolan Makeup Design Award; nominated by Janet L. Swenson; a student at Brigham Young University. Her portfolio's "extensive examples show a broad range of experience and strong set of skills."
  • Nicholas Vaughan, W. Oren Parker Scene Design Award; nominated by Anne Mundell; a student at Carnegie Mellon University; was noted for his "strong sense of composition and space."
  • Rachael King, Stage Decoration & Supplies Stage Management Award; nominated by James P. Birder; a graduate student at the University of Iowa; impressed jurors with her strong organizational facility.

For additional images from these award-winning portfolios, click on The Last Word.

To Top

Clinton O'Dell's designs (example below) will receive the Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award