Next Story in this issue
News & Notices
News From:
Portfolio Reviews
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record

The Royal Conservatory of Music, TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, will receive the USITT Honor Award at the 2010 Annual Conference. The award, along with six Merit Awards, will be presented Friday evening, April 2, at a USITT Architecture Commission reception.

Photo/TELUS Center for Performance and Learning

Seven 2010 Architecture Award Winners Named

One entertainment venue has been selected to receive the prestigious USITT Honor Award in the 2010 USITT Architecture Awards competition and six other projects will receive Merit Awards. The winners were chosen from the 36 entries from 12 states, the United Kingdom, Japan, Germany, and Canada.

On the selection committee were: Barton Myers, FAIA, president/design principal of Barton Myers & Associates of Los Angeles, California; D.J. Palladino, award-winning arts writer and editor based in Santa Barbara, California; and Damian J. Doria, FASA, one of Artec’s principal auditorium designers and principal acousticians.

Projects were evaluated on creativity, contextual resonance, functional operation, exploration of new technologies, and community contribution. All projects have been completed since January 1, 2000.

Honor Award

The Royal Conservatory of Music, TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning; owned by Royal Conservatory of Music, Dr. Peter Simon, president; in Toronto, Ontario, Canada; Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects; Anne Minors Performance Consultants, theatre consultants; Sound Space Design with Aerocoustics Engineering, Ltd., acoustical consultants.

Merit Awards

Vukovich Center for Communication Arts; owned by Allegheny College, in Meadville, Pennsylvaina; Polshek Partnership Architects; Theatre Projects Consultants, theatre consultants; Jaffe Holden, acoustical consultant.

Henry Miller’s Theatre on West 43rd Street, New York, New York; owned by One Bryant Park, LLC, a joint venture between the Durst Organization and Bank of America; Developed by Durst Organization; Cook and Fox Architects; Adamson Associates Architects, associate architects; Fisher Dachs Associates, theatre consultants; Jaffe Holden, acoustical consultant.

Winspear Opera House in Dallas, Texas; owned by AT&T Performing Arts Center; Foster + Partners, architect; Kendall Heaton Associates, associate architect; Theatre Projects Consultants, theatre consltants; Sound Space Design, acoustical consultant.

Theatre De Quat’sous in Montreal, Quebec, Canada; owned by Theatre De Quat’sous; Les Architectes Fab G, architect; Trizart Alliance, theatre consultants; Legault Davidson, acoustical consultant.

Renée and Henry Segerstrom Concert Hall and Sameueli Theater in Costa Mesa, California; owned by Orange County Performing Arts Center; Pelli Clarke Pelli, architect; Gruen Associates, associate architect; Artec Consultants, theatre and acoustical consultants.

Iwaki Performing Arts Center in Fukushima, Japan; owned by Iwaki City; Naomi Sato Architects & Shimizu Corporation, architect; Theatre Workshop, theatre consultant; Nagata Acoustics, acoustical consultant.

The Awards will be presented Friday evening April 2 at the 50th USITT Annual Conference & Stage Expo in Kansas City, Missouri during the Architecture Award Review, Presentation and Reception. The award-winning projects will be featured in a special exhibit at Stage Expo. After the Conference, the display will be made available for exhibition at schools and other institutions across the United States.

To Top