Next Story in this issue
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record
2010 Election Candidates

Sylvia Hillyard Pannell
Nominations Committee Chair

USITT 2010 voting will, again this year, be conducted electronically. Voting will begin in early December. Members will receive instructions detailing how to access and use the ballot. The ballot will include a brief biography and a position statement for each candidate.

The USITT Nominations Committee presents the following slate for the 2010 election cycle. This slate was first announced to the membership in the July 2009 issue of Sightlines.

Vice-President for Communications

Michael Monsos
Mark Shanda

Vice-President for Members, Sections & Chapters

Martha Marking
Stirling Shelton

Vice-President for Programming

Michael Mehler

Vice-President for Special Operations

Dan Denhart


Lea Asbell-Swanger
David Krajec

Officers who are elected will serve two-year terms starting July 1, 2010.

Directors at Large (six to be elected)

Pan Leung
Rafael Jaen
Jack Feivou
Raymond Kent
Tony Hardin
Don Childs
Debra Garcia Lockwood
John Prokos
Emily Gill
Jill Maurer
Stephanie Young
Michael Gros

Those elected Directors at Large will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2010.


The slate may be amended by following the By-Laws that state: "Additional nominations for each elective office may be presented by petition, supported by no fewer than 50 signatures verified as those of members in good standing in the Corporation. Additional nominations shall be accompanied by written approval of the nominee and a brief biographical description."

Petitions for additional nominations for each elective office may be conducted electronically for candidates who wish to be included on the ballot. To file an e-mail petition:

  • Confirm the willingness of the individual to stand for election and include their written agreement;
  • Collect the names of at least 50 current USITT members who have agreed to support the nomination; and
  • Send an e-mail, including this information by November 14, 2009 to Ms. Pannell as Nominations Committee Chair at

Or mailed to Ms. Pannell at USITT, 315 South Crouse Avenue, Suite 200, Syracuse, NY 13210—please mark the outside of the envelope att: Nomination Petition

The e-mail or snail mail must contain the name and brief biography of the nominee as well as names and e-mail addresses of all of those members who signed the petition in support of the nomination.

See Sightlines July 2009 for complete details on filing a petition.

To Top