Next Story in this issue
News & Notices
News From:
Conference & Stage Expo
For the Record

USITT's 2010 elections will provide members with the opportunity to choose leaders for the coming decade. Read about the nominations procedure and slate at left.

Announce 2010 Election Candidates

Carl Lefko
USITT President

The USITT Nominations Committee has prepared a slate for the 2010 election cycle. Sylvia Hillyard Pannell, as Immediate Past President, chaired the Nominations Committee that prepared the slate below. She and the committee diligently sought input from the general membership, Commissioners, Regional Sections, Conference Committee, and Directors at Large.

The Nominations Committee presents the following preliminary slate for the 2010 election.

Vice-President for Communications
Michael Monsos
Mark Shanda

Vice-President for Members, Sections & Chapters
Martha Marking
Stirling Shelton

Vice-President for Programming
Michael Mehler

Vice-President for Special Operations
Dan Denhart

Lea Asbell-Swanger
David Krajec

Officers who are elected will serve two-year terms starting July 1, 2010.

Directors at Large (six to be elected)
Pan Leung
Rafael Jaen
Jack Feivou
Raymond Kent
Tony Hardin
Don Childs
Debra Garcia Lockwood
John Prokos
Emily Gill
Jill Mauer
Stephanie Young
Michael Gros

Those elected Directors at Large will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2010.

The slate may be amended by following the By-Laws that state: "Additional nominations for each elective office may be presented by petition, supported by no fewer than 50 signatures verified as those of members in good standing in the Corporation. Additional nominations shall be accompanied by written approval of the nominee and a brief biographical description."

Petitions for additional nominations for each elective office may be conducted electronically for candidates who wish to be included on the ballot. To file an e-mail petition:

  • Confirm the willingness of the individual to stand for election;
  • Collect the names of at least 50 current USITT members who have agreed to support the nomination; and
  • Send an e-mail by October 1 to Ms. Pannell as Nominations Committee Chair at

The e-mail must contain the name and brief biography of the nominee as well as names and e-mail addresses of all of those members who signed the petition in support of the nomination.

Once the electronic petition is received, the membership of those who endorse the nomination will be verified and the support of each signer will be confirmed. If all is in order, the name will be added to the slate.

The Nominations Committee hopes that this option will allow the membership a continued process for participation and involvement. Petitions may still be filed on paper and mailed to Ms. Pannell at USITT, 315 South Crouse Avenue, Suite 200, Syracuse, NY 13210 by October 1.

Voting this year will again use an online system, with its secure electronic process for e-balloting. With the use of e-balloting, USITT has seen numbers of voters increase dramatically over the return of paper ballots. The vast majority of members found the process of voting electronically easy and accessible. Paper ballots will also be available for members who do not wish to vote electronically.

Any member with questions may e-mail Ms. Pannell at

USITT's officers and Directors at Large shape the future of the organization; it is very important that all members participate in the election process. By doing so, members invest in the future of the Institute.

Special thanks go to the current Nominations Committee for the conscientious work and many hours devoted to developing the 2010 USITT election slate.

To Top